NRCS Conservation Practice Standards for Agroforestry

Conservation Practice Standards are a key component in USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) Conservation Plans and the delivery of Technical Assistance by NRCS to its cooperators. NRCS Financial Assistance is directly tied to these Standards, and is delivered through programs such as the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP), the Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), and other USDA and State conservation programs. A variety of NRCS Conservation Practice Standards can be used to implement agroforestry practices. This page focuses on the practice standards that are specific to agroforestry. Use the table below to see if your state offers standards for the following practices: Alley Cropping, Multistory Cropping (Forest Farming), Riparian Forest Buffers, Silvopasture, Windbreak Establishment, and Windbreak Renovation. More information about these state standards can be found in your state's Field Office Technical Guide (FOTG).

*Updated January 2024

State	Riparian Forest Buffer	Silvopasture	Alley Cropping	Windbreak Establishment/Renovation	Forest Farming
Alabama	Х	Х			
Alaska	Х		Х	Х	
Arizona	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Arkansas	Х	Х	Х	X	
California	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Colorado	Х		Х	Х	Х
Connecticut	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Delaware	Х			X	
District of Columbia	Х	Х	Х	X	
Florida	Х	Х	Х	X	
Georgia	Х	Х		X	
Hawaii & Pacific Islands Area (American	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia,					
Palau, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam,					
Marshall Islands)					
Idaho	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х

Illinois	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Indiana	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Iowa	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Kansas	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Kentucky	Х	Х		Х	
Louisiana	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Maine	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Maryland	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Massachusetts	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Michigan	Х		Х	Х	
Minnesota	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Mississippi	Х	Х		Х	
Missouri	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Montana	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Nebraska	Х			Х	
Nevada	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
New Hampshire	Х				
New Jersey	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
New Mexico	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
New York	Х			Х	Х
North Carolina	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
North Dakota	Х			Х	
Ohio	Х		Х	Х	Х
Oklahoma	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Oregon	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Pennsylvania	Х		Х	Х	Х
Rhode Island	Х		Х	Х	
South Carolina	Х	Х	Х	Х	
South Dakota	Х	Х		Х	
Tennessee	Х	Х		Х	

Texas	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Utah	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Vermont	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Virginia	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Washington	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
West Virginia	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Wisconsin	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Wyoming	Х	Х	Х	Х	
Caribbean Area (Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico)	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х