File Code: 2500 Date: March 1, 2013

Route To:

Subject: The 2012 Rise to the Future, National Hydrology, Soil Science, and Air Awards

To: Regional Foresters, Station Directors, Area Director, IITF Director, Deputy Chiefs

and WO Directors

I am pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the national awards for Fisheries, Hydrology, Soil Science, and Air. Our review committee was faced with the challenging task of selecting from an abundance of outstanding nominations. All of the nominees are to be commended. After a difficult review process, the recipients for 2012 are as follows:

<u>Aquatic Recreational Accomplishment</u>: The Happy Meadows Team, including the South Park Ranger District on the Pike and San Isabel National Forests and Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands

<u>Collaborative/Integrated Aquatic Stewardship:</u> The Salmon River Estuary Project on the Siuslaw National Forest

<u>Field Soil Scientist of the Year</u>: Dave Hoppe, Field Soil Scientist on the Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest

<u>Friend of the Fish/Watershed</u>: Brian Austin, Civil Engineer on the Green Mountain & Finger Lakes National Forests

Line Officer: Timothy Love, Seeley Lake District Ranger on the Lolo National Forest

Partnership: Miller Coors Brewery

Professional Excellence - Fish Management: Jim Herrig from the Cherokee National Forest

<u>Public Awareness</u>: The Wild and Scenic Snake River Headwaters Interdisciplinary Team of the Bridger-Teton National Forest

Tribal Accomplishment: Tony Christianson of the Hydaburg Cooperative Association

<u>Jim Sedell Research Achievement</u>: Dr. Pete Bisson of the Pacific Northwest Research Station

<u>Special Category for "Professional Accomplishment – Soil Science"</u>: Nancy Burt, Forest Soil Scientist of the Green Mountain and Finger Lakes National Forests





<u>"Wagon Wheel Gap" Hydrology</u>: Dana Butler of the Pike and San Isabel National Forests and Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands

Paul Miller Air Award: Janice Peterson of the Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest

A detailed description of the winners is enclosed.

Please join us in honoring our recipients, and make plans to attend the annual awards ceremony on the evening of May 14, 2013, at the Hyatt Hotel in Arlington, Virginia.

/s/ James M. Pena (for)
LESLIE A. C. WELDON
Deputy Chief, National Forest System

Enclosure

cc: Michael B Eberle Amy Unthank Ann E Mebane Eunice A Padley



