
Order No. 10-06-2012-02 
 

ORDER 
Occupancy and Use Restriction 

Pawnee National Grassland 
 

Shooting Closure 
 

Pursuant to Title16, U.S.C., § 551, 36 C.F.R, § 261.50(a), the following act is prohibited within the 
Pawnee National Grassland of the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National 
Grassland, Weld County, State of Colorado, hereinafter referred to as the Restricted Area.  The 
Restricted Area is defined as the area located North of Colorado State Highway 14 starting at the 
junction of Weld County Roads 61 and 96, East along 96 to Weld County Road 63, then South along 
Weld County Road 63 to the junction of Weld County Roads 63 and 94, as depicted on the attached 
map, hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A. The purpose of this Order is to provide for 
public safety and the protection of property. 
 
PROHIBITIONS IN THE RESTRICTED AREA:   
 

• Discharging a firearm, air rifle or gas gun.    36 C.F.R. § 261.58 (m). 
 
EXEMPTIONS: 
 
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order: 
 

1. Persons with a USDA Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited 
act or omission. 

 
2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in 

the performance of any official duty.   
 

3. Any person possessing a valid Colorado hunting license lawfully involved in hunting and 
harvesting game.  

 
4. Any person using a paintball gun. 

 
This Order supersedes, rescinds and replaces Order 10-06-2010-01, dated July 1, 2010. 
 
This Order will be in effect when signed and shall remain in effect until rescinded.  
   
 
Done at Fort Collins, Colorado this 10th day of December, 2012.   
 
 
/s/ Glenn P. Casamassa        December 10, 2012 
______________________________              _________________________                                                 
GLENN P. CASAMASSA              DATE 
Forest Supervisor 
Arapaho-Roosevelt National Forests 
and Pawnee National Grassland  
 
 
 Violation of this regulation is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 
for an individual or $10,000 for an organization,, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or 
both.  16 U.S.C. § 551, and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571. 


