
  ORDER No. 10-01-2012-10 
  

ORDER 
OCCUPANCY AND USE RESTRICTIONS 

Boulder Ranger District 
 Roosevelt National Forest 

 
Lefthand Canyon OHVArea Shooting 

 
Pursuant to Title16, United States Code, Section 551, 36 C.F.R., Section 261.50(a), the following act is 
prohibited within the Lefthand Canyon area on the Boulder Ranger District of the Arapaho and Roosevelt 
National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland, Boulder County, State of Colorado, hereinafter referred to 
as the Restricted Area.  The Restricted Area is defined as the slot canyon located at mile marker 4.5 on 
Lefthand Canyon Drive (County Road 94) as depicted on the attached map, hereby incorporated into this 
Order as Exhibit A.  This Order is necessary for the protection of public health and safety.   
 
 
PROHIBITED ACT: 
 

1. Discharging a firearm.  36 C.F.R. 261.58 (m). 
 
EXEMPTIONS: 

 
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. Section 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 
        

1. Persons with a USDA Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act 
or omission. 

               
2. Any Federal, State or local officer or member of any organized rescue or firefighting force 

engaged in the performance of an official duty. 
 

3. Any person possessing a valid Colorado hunting license lawfully involved in 
      hunting and harvesting game. 

 
This Order supersedes, rescinds and replaces Order 10-01-2010-01, dated April 9, 2010. 
 
This Order will be in effect when signed and shall remain in effect until rescinded.  
   
Done at Fort Collins, Colorado this 10th day of December, 2012.   
 
 
/s/ Glenn P. Casamassa                                          December 10, 2012 
____________________________________                                           _________________________ 
GLENN P. CASAMASSA DATE 
Forest Supervisor 
Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forest 
and Pawnee National Grasslands.             
         
 
Violations of this regulation is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an 
individual or $10,000 for an organization,, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both.  (16 
U.S.C. § 551, and 18, U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571) 
 


