
                     
Order # 10-08-2011-01 

 
 

       
ORDER 

               OCCUPANCY AND USE RESTRICTIONS 
              

            JAMES PEAK PROTECTION AND SPECIAL INTEREST AREAS  
            Arapaho National Forest 

 
Pursuant to  Title 16 U.S.C. § 551 and 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(a) and 261.50(b), the following acts are 
prohibited on National Forest System lands within the James Peak Protection and the James Peak Special 
Interest Areas of the Arapaho National Forest, in Grand County, State of Colorado, hereinafter referred to as 
the Restricted Area. The Restricted Area is depicted on the attached map, hereby incorporated into this 
Order as Exhibit A.  This Order is necessary to protect physical and biological resources of the James Peak 
Protection Area. 
 
PROHIBITIONS: 
 
I.  James Peak Protection Area 
 

 Possessing or using a bicycle off of a designated National Forest System road or trail.   
36 C.F.R. § 261.56 and § 261.55(b) 
 

 
II.  James Peak Special Interest Area (within the James Peak Protection Area) 
 

 Camping within 100 feet of all lakes, streams, and National Forest System trails.  36 C.F.R. § 261.58 (e). 
 

 Hitching, tethering, or hobbling any pack or saddle animal within 100 feet of all lakes, streams, or 
National Forest System trails.  36 C.F.R. § 261.58(aa). 

 
EXEMPTIONS: 
 
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order: 
 
1.  Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission. 
 
2.  Any Federal, state, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force, in the 
performance of an official duty. 
 
Done in Fort Collins, Colorado this 22nd day of March, 2011.      
 
 
 

/s/  Glenn P. Casamassa      March 22, 2011 
___________________________     __________________________   
GLENN P. CASAMASSA               DATE  
Forest Supervisor       
Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests 
and Pawnee National Grassland    
  
Violations of these restrictions are punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or 
$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both.  16 U.S.C. § 551, and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559  
and 3571. 


