INTERMOUNTAIN REGION - ABOUT THE REGION ABOUT THE REGION

INTERMOUNTAIN REGION

The Intermountain Region of the Forest Service encompasses nearly 34-million acres of National Forest System land. The Intermountain Regional Office in Ogden, Utah provides administrative oversight and support to 12 National Forests which are located in Utah, Nevada, western Wyoming, southern and central Idaho, eastern California, as well as one National Grassland in Idaho and the Rocky Mountain Research Station in Colorado. The National Forest Supervisor's Offices are the headquarters for forest activities and provide oversight and support to the Ranger District offices within the forest boundaries. Ranger Districts are the units that directly manage the national forests and grasslands. Types of management that occur on each district vary significantly. Some districts manage ski areas, wilderness areas, wild and scenic rivers, and resource management programs and extensive recreational uses.

Four major geographic provinces come together to form the Intermountain West. They include the Great Basin, Colorado Plateau, Middle Rocky Mountains and the Northern Rocky Mountains. These provinces are the reason for the tremendous diversity of landscapes and ecosystems within the Intermountain Region.

