
Who Needs to Carry a Permit: (AISPP) non-Motorized Boats (Paddlecraft) AND Motorized 
Boats 
 
Manually powered boats (paddle boards (SUPs), rafts, drift boats, kayaks, canoes, etc.)  10 feet 
long and longer will need to carry one permit per boat when in use. 
  
Permits are transferrable to other manually-powered craft. 
 
Non-Motorized Boat permits are available as either a one-year or two-year Tyvek permit (Or. 
only). The one-year permit expires on December 31 of the year issued and the two-year permit 
expires on December 31 of the second year issued. 
 

Oregon Aquatic Invasive Species Permit-  $5 

Go to:  www.oregon.gov/OSMB/  
Log-in or  
 
Register and create an account:   

In order to validate your acct., you are sent a verification email to the email address you 
entered.  You must be able to access the email acct. and click the link provided. Once 
clicked you will be returned to your acct. and provided access to buy AIS permits.  

 
*You may purchase more than one permit at a time, which would work for other boats in your 
party that need permits 
 
Once purchased, go to Receipt Summary Page and print temporary permits.  Temp permits are 
good for 14 days, and actual ones will be mailed to the address you supplied in your acct. 
registration.  There is a $30 fine for not carrying a permit for a non-motorized boat. 
 
 
Idaho Aquatic Invasive Species Stickers-  $7 
 
Go to: https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/activities/boating 
or call: 1-208-334-4197  M-F 8am – 5pm MST 
 
When purchasing stickers on-line, a printable receipt for proof of purchase will be provided and 
the actual stickers will be mailed within 48 hrs.  
 
In order to comply with State law, the sticker is required to be placed on the vessel.  The receipt 
of purchase will not be sufficient. Please plan accordingly. 
 
*You may purchase more than one sticker at a time, which would work for other boats in your 
party. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OSMB/
https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/activities/boating


When you check out and pay, you will be required to provide you billing name and address, 
even if it is the same as your mailing info. 
 
 
What about boats from Washington or Idaho?  
Boats from Idaho that have an Idaho Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention sticker do not need an 
Oregon permit if boating within the mainstem of the Snake River. Non-motorized boats from 
Washington do need permits from Oregon or Idaho. 
 
 
 


