UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE UNITED STATES FOREST SERVICE OUACHITA NATIONAL FOREST HOT SPRINGS, AR

FOREST ORDER NO. OA-ONF-03-2024

FIRE

Pursuant to Title 16 USC § 551 and Title 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on lands administered by the Ouachita National Forest as depicted in the map attached hereto and incorporated herein..

It is prohibited to:

1. Violate State burning or fire laws. 36 CFR 261.52(k)

Arkansas

5-38-310. Unlawful burning.

- (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful burning if the person:
- (9) Sets on fire or causes or procures to be set on fire any forest, brush, or other flammable material in violation of a burn ban on outdoor burning declared under 12-75-108.

Oklahoma

2 OK Stat § 2-16-26 (2016)

A. 1. It is unlawful for any person to set fire to any forest, grass, range, crop, or other wildlands, or to build a campfire or bonfire, or to burn trash or other material that may cause a forest, grass, range, crop or other wildlands fire in any county, counties or area within a county where, because of emergency drought conditions, there is gubernatorially proclaimed extraordinary danger from fire, unless the setting of any backfire during the drought emergency is necessary to afford protection as determined by a representative of the Division of Forestry, or unless it can be established that the setting of the backfire was necessary for the purpose of saving life or property. The burden of proving the necessity shall rest on the person claiming a defense.

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e) the following persons are exempt from the above prohibitions:

- 1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.
- 2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of their official duty.

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A. This Order will expire two (2) years after the date of execution.

Executed in Hot Springs, Arkansas, this _30thday ofApril, 2024.	
	DAN OLSEN
	Forest Supervisor
	Ouachita National Forest

A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than \$5,000 for an individual or \$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both. 16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559, 3571 and 3581.

