UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE UNITED STATES FOREST SERVICE GEORGE WASHINGTON AND JEFFERSON NATIONAL FORESTS Roanoke, Virginia

ORDER NO. 08-08-13-23-5

JAMES RIVER FOOTBRIDGE PROHIBITIONS

Pursuant to Title 16 U.S.C. § 551 and Title 36 C.F.R. § 261.50, the following acts are prohibited on the James River Footbridge on the Appalachian National Scenic Trail (#1) in Amherst and Bedford Counties on the Glenwood-Pedlar Ranger District of the George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. This order applies to areas in and around the parking lot located on the Amherst County side of the Footbridge, and within 1,000 feet of the Footbridge in Bedford County, as shown on the attached map. This Forest Order is effective from the date signed by the Forest Supervisor until August 30, 2028, or until terminated by an authorized Forest Service official, whichever occurs first.

Prohibitions. The following acts are prohibited:

- 1. Possessing a beverage which is defined as an alcoholic beverage by State law. CFR 261.58(bb).
- 2. Camping CFR 261.58(e).
- 3. Building, maintaining, or attending a fire, campfire, or stove fire (including grills) CFR 261.52(a).
- 4. Climbing on, jumping or diving from, or being upon any part of the bridge, abutments, or piers except the boarded walkway CFR 261.53(e).

Exemptions: Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order:

- 1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.
- 2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of their official duty.
- 3. Persons with a Forest Permit for Use of Roads, Trails, or Areas Restricted by Regulation or Order, Form FS-7700-48, specifically exempting them from the effect of this Order.

Executed in Roanoke, Virginia this 30th day of August 2023.

Joby P. Timm Forest Supervisor

George Washington and Jefferson

National Forests

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than \$5,000 for an individual or \$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both. 16 USC \$51 and 18 USC \$3559, 3571 and 3581.

