
Regional Order No. 22-02 
USDA Forest Service 

Pacific Southwest Region 
Fire Restrictions 

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 551 and 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(a) and (b), and to provide for public safety and protect natural 
resources, the following acts are prohibited on National Forest System lands under my jurisdiction.  This Order is 
effective from June 24, 2022, through May 29, 2025.  

1. Using an explosive.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(b). 

2. Possessing any substance, material, or any combination of substances or materials, with the intent to 
make any destructive device or any explosive, within the State of California, without first obtaining a 
valid permit from the State of California to make that destructive device or explosive, in violation of 
California Penal Code 18720.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(k). 

3. Possessing, discharging or using any kind of firework or other pyrotechnic device.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(f). 

4. Operating or using any internal or external combustion engine without a spark arresting device that is 
properly installed, maintained and in effective working order in accordance with the U.S. Forest Service 
Standard 5100-1.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(j). 

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 

1. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire-fighting force in 
the performance of an official duty. 

 

2. Persons with a Forest Service Permit No. FS-7700-48 (Permit for Use of Roads, Trails, or 
Areas Restricted by Regulation or Order), specifically exempting them from this Order. 

 
3. Persons with a Forest Service special use authorization or non-special use written 

authorization specifically authorizing the use of explosives are exempt from this Order to the 
extent necessary to conduct such activities in accordance with the terms of their permits. 

 

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions contained in 36 C.F.R. Part 261, Subpart A. 

A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an 
organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.  16 U.S.C. § 551 and  
18 U.S.C. §§ 3559, 3571, and 3581.  

Done at Vallejo, California, this 23rd day of June 2022. 

 

____________________________ 

JENNIFER EBERLIEN  
Regional Forester  
Pacific Southwest Region 
 
This Order Supersedes Order No. 22-01 


